The Four Rs of Programming Language Design (revisited)

Following my blog post last year about the “four Rs of programming language design” I wrote a short essay expanding upon the idea which has now been included in the online post-proceedings of the ACM Onward ’11 essay track (part of the SPLASH conference).

The essay was a lot of fun to write (I somehow end up referencing books from the 19th century, a sci-fi novel, 1984, and The Matrix!) and is a kind of mission statement (at least for myself) for language design; it is available on my research page here. I hope that it provides some food-for-thought for others interested in, or working in, language design.

One thought on “The Four Rs of Programming Language Design (revisited)

  1. Hello mate, very nice and informative article you have shared with all of us. I appreciate your efforts. Thanks

Leave a Reply

